Skip to content
College Path Hub

Northwest Missouri State University

Maryville, Missouri · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$16,244What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
86%
Graduation rate
56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,378
In-state tuition
$10,611Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$17,324
SAT midpoint
1,043
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$47,885Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$16,244

Better than 36% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

56%

Better than 60% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$47,885

Better than 27% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,500

Better than 40% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$24,945

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$16,244

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Northwest Missouri State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time56%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return74%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$47,885

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Northwest Missouri State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$65,44423
Computer Software and Media Applications$51,79014
Marketing$48,55747
Agricultural Business and Management$48,30246
Plant Sciences$47,17025
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$46,64722
Finance and Financial Management Services$45,81027
Business Administration, Management and Operations$43,672101
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$42,38929
Homeland Security$42,26615
Chemistry$39,47820
Agriculture, General$38,67829
Special Education and Teaching$38,04016
Biology, General$37,98329
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$37,066137
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$37,05771
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$36,7587
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$36,247Not reported
Research and Experimental Psychology$35,55658
Animal Sciences$34,87617
Psychology, General$34,22659
Communication and Media Studies$34,19560
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$32,26848
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported29
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported26
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported22
CriminologyNot reported16
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported12
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported12
Geography and CartographyNot reported10
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported10
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported10
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported9
Agriculture/Veterinary Preparatory ProgramsNot reported8
HistoryNot reported7
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported7
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported7
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported6
International BusinessNot reported6
MathematicsNot reported5
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported5
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported4
Agricultural Public ServicesNot reported4
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported4
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported3
EconomicsNot reported3
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported3
Business Operations Support and Assistant ServicesNot reported2
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported2
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reported2
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported1
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reportedNot reported
Public AdministrationNot reportedNot reported
PhilosophyNot reportedNot reported
Apparel and TextilesNot reportedNot reported
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
JournalismNot reportedNot reported

All 62 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges