Skip to content
College Path Hub

Missouri Southern State University

Joplin, Missouri · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,007What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
97%
Graduation rate
40%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,019
In-state tuition
$8,960Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$17,080
SAT midpoint
1,060
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$42,620Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,007

Better than 72% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

40%

Better than 22% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$42,620

Better than 10% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,174

Better than 69% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$19,568

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,007

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Missouri Southern State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time40%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return63%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,174
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$42,620

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Missouri Southern State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$62,27315
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$52,5394
Business/Commerce, General$44,262189
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$36,78380
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$36,34588
Psychology, General$34,64731
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$34,46526
Education, General$34,166Not reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections$33,16733
Biology, General$31,14946
Communication and Media Studies$30,2019
Fine and Studio Arts$29,30915
Social Work$27,93615
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported52
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported19
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported19
Public HealthNot reported16
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported13
Public Policy AnalysisNot reported9
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansNot reported7
MusicNot reported5
HistoryNot reported5
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported4
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported3
SociologyNot reported3
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reported2
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported2
PhysicsNot reported1
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported1
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported1
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Design and Applied ArtsNot reportedNot reported
Geography and CartographyNot reportedNot reported

All 37 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges