Skip to content
College Path Hub

Macalester College

Saint Paul, Minnesota · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$32,149What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
29%
Graduation rate
89%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,131
In-state tuition
$68,104Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$68,104
SAT midpoint
1,428
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$63,878Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$32,149

Better than 15% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

89%

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$63,878

Better than 75% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,000

Better than 65% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$82,991

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$32,149

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Macalester College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time89%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return92%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$63,878

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Macalester College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$81,96472
Economics$59,75261
Mathematics$57,16663
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$45,45035
Political Science and Government$39,43943
Research and Experimental Psychology$38,02741
Biology, General$35,61649
Geography and Cartography$30,053Not reported
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$29,55931
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$29,48715
International/Globalization Studies$21,17628
PhysicsNot reported21
Geography and Environmental StudiesNot reported21
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported16
PhilosophyNot reported16
SociologyNot reported14
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported13
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported13
AnthropologyNot reported12
ChemistryNot reported12
HistoryNot reported11
MusicNot reported10
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported10
Area StudiesNot reported10
Education, GeneralNot reported9
Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity StudiesNot reported9
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported8
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported7
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported5
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported5
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported2
Computational ScienceNot reported1
Psychology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 38 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges