Skip to content
College Path Hub

Bethel University

Saint Paul, Minnesota · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$28,556What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
88%
Graduation rate
73%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,871
In-state tuition
$44,226Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$44,226
SAT midpoint
1,234
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$63,764Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$28,556

Better than 25% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

73%

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$63,764

Better than 74% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,500

Better than 74% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$58,569

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$28,556

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Bethel University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time73%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return86%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$63,764

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Bethel University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Human Resources Management and Services$76,00015
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$75,37191
Computer and Information Sciences, General$73,9429
Accounting and Related Services$65,5879
Business Administration, Management and Operations$55,704128
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,36125
Social Work$45,25917
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$43,63913
Communication and Media Studies$40,01928
Biology, General$37,92429
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$31,91938
Psychology, General$31,06040
PhysicsNot reported24
Special Education and TeachingNot reported17
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported15
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported11
Theology and Religious Vocations, OtherNot reported11
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported10
Pastoral Counseling and Specialized MinistriesNot reported10
ChemistryNot reported9
Mechanical EngineeringNot reported9
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reported8
Digital Humanities and Textual StudiesNot reported7
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported6
PhilosophyNot reported6
EconomicsNot reported6
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageNot reported5
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported5
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported4
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported4
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported4
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported4
Bible/Biblical StudiesNot reported4
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
HistoryNot reported3
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
Data ScienceNot reported2
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionNot reported2
MathematicsNot reported2
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported1
SociologyNot reportedNot reported
Engineering ScienceNot reportedNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported
JournalismNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported

All 52 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges