Skip to content
College Path Hub

Hampshire College

Amherst, Massachusetts · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$24,034What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
75%
Graduation rate
56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
839
In-state tuition
$58,896Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$58,896
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$46,938Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$24,034

Better than 43% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

56%

Better than 44% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$46,938

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,893

Better than 22% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$74,195

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$24,034

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Hampshire College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time56%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,893
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$46,938

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Hampshire College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$21,113Not reported
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported12
SociologyNot reported5
Zoology/Animal BiologyNot reported4
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported4
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported4
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported4
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported4
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported3
Education, GeneralNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported3
PhysicsNot reported2
Cognitive ScienceNot reported2
HistoryNot reported2
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported2
Psychology, GeneralNot reported2
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported1
Graphic CommunicationsNot reported1
ChemistryNot reported1
MusicNot reported1
Area StudiesNot reported1
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported1
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported1
MathematicsNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reported1
AnthropologyNot reported1
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reported1
Public Policy AnalysisNot reported1
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Biology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Public HealthNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Computer ScienceNot reportedNot reported
DanceNot reportedNot reported
JournalismNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Agriculture, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reported
Environmental DesignNot reportedNot reported
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Food Science and TechnologyNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and AnalysisNot reportedNot reported
Urban Studies/AffairsNot reportedNot reported
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reportedNot reported
Outdoor EducationNot reportedNot reported
Human BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Botany/Plant BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionNot reportedNot reported
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reportedNot reported
Political Science and GovernmentNot reportedNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reportedNot reported
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reportedNot reported
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyNot reportedNot reported

All 63 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges