Gallaudet University
Washington, District of Columbia · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $15,845What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 58%
- Graduation rate
- 47%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 812
- In-state tuition
- $19,654Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $19,654
- SAT midpoint
- 962
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $43,101Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$15,8455/5
Better than 82% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).
Completion
47%2/5
Better than 29% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).
Earnings
$43,1011/5
Better than 19% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).
Debt at graduation
$18,0005/5
Better than 88% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$40,374
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$15,845
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 47% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 71% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $18,000 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $43,101 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $38,090 | 10 |
| American Sign Language | $37,235 | 18 |
| Social Work | $31,903 | 13 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | $31,541 | 30 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $29,003 | 10 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $25,747 | 16 |
| Psychology, General | $20,185 | 21 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Not reported | 13 |
| Biology, General | Not reported | 13 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | Not reported | 12 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 10 |
| History | Not reported | 10 |
| Insurance | Not reported | 8 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 8 |
| Political Science and Government | Not reported | 8 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Not reported | 7 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Not reported | 7 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | Not reported | 5 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 3 |
| Education, General | Not reported | 3 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 2 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 2 |
| Public Health | Not reported | 2 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 1 |
| Human Services, General | Not reported | 1 |
| Sociology | Not reported | 1 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Not reported | 1 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Educational Administration and Supervision | Not reported | Not reported |
| Journalism | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education | Not reported | Not reported |
| Special Education and Teaching | Not reported | Not reported |
All 34 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Trinity Washington University
Washington, DC
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in DC, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoNewU University
Washington, DC
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in DC, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoThe Catholic University of America
Washington, DC
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in DC, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoAmerican University
Washington, DC
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in DC, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two