Eastern Connecticut State University
Willimantic, Connecticut · Public · 4-year · Town
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $21,067What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 83%
- Graduation rate
- 58%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 3,418
- In-state tuition
- $13,928Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $17,428
- SAT midpoint
- Not reported
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $56,469Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$21,0671/5
Better than 10% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
58%4/5
Better than 65% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$56,4693/5
Better than 56% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$24,2501/5
Better than 18% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$31,983
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$21,067
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 58% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 84% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $24,250 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $56,469 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $47,736 | 15 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $47,445 | 15 |
| Mathematics | $45,858 | 17 |
| Business/Commerce, General | $44,048 | Not reported |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $43,915 | 16 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $43,250 | 16 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $42,549 | 38 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $41,870 | 60 |
| Biology, General | $39,977 | 25 |
| Criminology | $39,705 | 56 |
| Sociology | $38,523 | 34 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $34,132 | 31 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | $32,962 | 63 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $32,721 | 58 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $30,616 | 46 |
| Social Work | $29,471 | 42 |
| Psychology, General | $29,403 | 92 |
| History | $26,186 | 25 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $23,534 | 28 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Not reported | 86 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Not reported | 38 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | Not reported | 18 |
| Political Science and Government | Not reported | 16 |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | Not reported | 13 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 9 |
| Economics | Not reported | 8 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 6 |
| Applied Mathematics | Not reported | 6 |
| Music | Not reported | 5 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 3 |
| Anthropology | Not reported | 2 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 2 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 1 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | Not reported | 1 |
| Information Science/Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
All 35 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Western Connecticut State University
Danbury, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Connecticut-Stamford
Stamford, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCharter Oak State College
New Britain, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Connecticut-Hartford Campus
Hartford, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two