University of Connecticut-Hartford Campus
Hartford, Connecticut · Public · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $16,403What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 88%
- Graduation rate
- 65%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 1,525
- In-state tuition
- $18,130Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $40,798
- SAT midpoint
- 1,115
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $73,997Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$16,4032/5
Better than 35% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
65%4/5
Better than 77% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$73,9975/5
Better than 90% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$21,5002/5
Better than 40% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$26,946
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$16,403
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 65% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 84% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $21,500 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $73,997 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $84,969 | 2 |
| Computer Engineering | $82,924 | Not reported |
| Computer Science | $79,605 | 1 |
| Industrial Engineering | $77,692 | Not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $77,411 | Not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $75,649 | Not reported |
| Materials Engineering | $75,607 | Not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | $74,869 | 1 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $71,600 | Not reported |
| Accounting and Related Services | $70,945 | Not reported |
| Civil Engineering | $70,388 | Not reported |
| Chemical Engineering | $68,025 | Not reported |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $67,009 | 1 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $66,075 | Not reported |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | $64,950 | Not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | $61,741 | Not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | $60,597 | Not reported |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $57,842 | Not reported |
| Statistics | $55,279 | Not reported |
| Marketing | $54,809 | Not reported |
| Mathematics | $53,284 | Not reported |
| Economics | $52,227 | 3 |
| Chemistry | $52,216 | Not reported |
| Business/Commerce, General | $50,489 | Not reported |
| Agricultural Business and Management | $45,435 | Not reported |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $44,240 | Not reported |
| Communication and Media Studies | $40,473 | 2 |
| Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences | $39,712 | Not reported |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | $39,343 | Not reported |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $38,647 | Not reported |
| Agricultural Production Operations | $38,189 | Not reported |
| Animal Sciences | $37,712 | Not reported |
| Political Science and Government | $37,009 | Not reported |
| Zoology/Animal Biology | $35,618 | Not reported |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | $35,393 | 1 |
| Urban Studies/Affairs | $34,074 | Not reported |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | $33,788 | Not reported |
| Anthropology | $33,758 | Not reported |
| Psychology, General | $33,521 | 3 |
| Public Policy Analysis | $33,424 | Not reported |
| Biology, General | $33,189 | 1 |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | $32,919 | 1 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | $32,882 | Not reported |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $32,795 | Not reported |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $32,586 | Not reported |
| Physics | $32,341 | Not reported |
| Sociology | $31,913 | Not reported |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $31,642 | 1 |
| Music | $31,336 | Not reported |
| History | $27,581 | Not reported |
| Nutrition Sciences | $27,575 | Not reported |
| English Language and Literature, General | $27,335 | Not reported |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $26,899 | Not reported |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $25,777 | Not reported |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $24,419 | Not reported |
| Journalism | $24,026 | Not reported |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | $22,345 | Not reported |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $18,002 | Not reported |
| Real Estate | Not reported | Not reported |
| Special Education and Teaching | Not reported | Not reported |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering Physics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Sign Language | Not reported | Not reported |
| East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | Not reported | Not reported |
| Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social Work | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Management Information Systems and Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | Not reported |
| Geography and Cartography | Not reported | Not reported |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Agriculture, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Plant Sciences | Not reported | Not reported |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | Not reported |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | Not reported | Not reported |
All 85 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Charter Oak State College
New Britain, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUnited States Coast Guard Academy
New London, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus
Waterbury, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Connecticut-Stamford
Stamford, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two