Skip to content
College Path Hub

Champlain College

Burlington, Vermont · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$35,860What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
83%
Graduation rate
64%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,752
In-state tuition
$47,850Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$47,850
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$58,386Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$35,860

Better than 10% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

64%

Better than 62% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$58,386

Better than 62% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,814

Better than 23% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$65,009

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$35,860

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Champlain College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time64%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return82%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,814
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$58,386

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Champlain College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$72,652154
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$71,20714
Security Science and Technology$70,58669
Finance and Financial Management Services$61,6587
Accounting and Related Services$61,30624
Health and Medical Administrative Services$61,26510
Computer Science$54,03619
Computer Software and Media Applications$52,26014
Business Administration, Management and Operations$46,33471
Marketing$42,56922
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$39,2585
Design and Applied Arts$38,26456
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$37,87214
Criminal Justice and Corrections$35,00311
Visual and Performing Arts, General$30,13851
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$26,80512
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$23,23715
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$21,09221
Computer ProgrammingNot reported41
Social WorkNot reported12
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported11
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported7
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported5
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reported5
MusicNot reported5
Data ScienceNot reported4
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported4
Applied MathematicsNot reported1
International BusinessNot reported1
Computer EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Medical Illustration and InformaticsNot reportedNot reported
Data AnalyticsNot reportedNot reported

All 34 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges