Skip to content
College Path Hub

Saint Michael's College

Colchester, Vermont · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$25,239What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
85%
Graduation rate
71%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,092
In-state tuition
$51,450Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$51,450
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$61,317Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$25,239

Better than 37% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

71%

Better than 78% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$61,317

Better than 70% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,922

Better than 22% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$69,079

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$25,239

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Saint Michael's College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time71%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return80%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,922
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$61,317

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Saint Michael's College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Accounting and Related Services$56,72310
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,12657
Economics$47,21112
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,48911
Psychology, General$36,90253
Sociology$36,605Not reported
Biology, General$36,32731
English Language and Literature, General$34,3488
Political Science and Government$34,30717
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$33,65814
Communication and Media Studies$30,74710
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported20
HistoryNot reported13
Sociology and AnthropologyNot reported12
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported10
CriminologyNot reported10
Computer ScienceNot reported8
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported7
Education, GeneralNot reported7
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported7
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported6
Public HealthNot reported5
MathematicsNot reported5
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported5
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported4
MusicNot reported4
Applied MathematicsNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported3
PhysicsNot reported3
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported2
Engineering, GeneralNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported2
Information Science/StudiesNot reported2
Area StudiesNot reported2
StatisticsNot reported1
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 40 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges