Central Connecticut State University
New Britain, Connecticut · Public · 4-year · Suburb
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $16,857What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 73%
- Graduation rate
- 49%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 7,822
- In-state tuition
- $13,050Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $16,550
- SAT midpoint
- 1,065
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $58,562Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$16,8572/5
Better than 30% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
49%2/5
Better than 40% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$58,5624/5
Better than 63% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$22,3002/5
Better than 34% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$24,870
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$16,857
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 49% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 77% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $22,300 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $58,562 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $83,012 | 82 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | $74,889 | 37 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $74,676 | 51 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians | $73,788 | 18 |
| Civil Engineering | $71,859 | 13 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $69,334 | 73 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $65,486 | 30 |
| Construction Management | $65,470 | 55 |
| Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians | $60,339 | 17 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | $55,134 | 38 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $52,758 | 102 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $51,282 | 78 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $49,098 | 125 |
| Mathematics | $48,660 | 15 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $45,790 | 31 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $44,487 | 65 |
| Economics | $41,910 | 28 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $41,790 | 26 |
| Criminology | $40,713 | 142 |
| Marketing | $39,477 | 65 |
| Social Work | $37,519 | 46 |
| Biology, General | $36,907 | 68 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $35,859 | 35 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $35,701 | 47 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | $35,444 | 40 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $34,930 | 42 |
| Journalism | $34,577 | 12 |
| Sociology | $33,724 | 26 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $33,685 | 14 |
| Psychology, General | $33,153 | 155 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $30,399 | 28 |
| History | $30,301 | 42 |
| Political Science and Government | $25,270 | 29 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 46 |
| Anthropology | Not reported | 13 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | Not reported | 12 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 11 |
| Geography and Cartography | Not reported | 9 |
| Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians | Not reported | 8 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 8 |
| Physics | Not reported | 8 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 8 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Not reported | 7 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 7 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 5 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 3 |
| Music | Not reported | 2 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Not reported | 1 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | 1 |
| Physical Sciences, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Data Analytics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/Commerce, General | Not reported | Not reported |
All 55 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Southern Connecticut State University
New Haven, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoWestern Connecticut State University
Danbury, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoEastern Connecticut State University
Willimantic, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Connecticut-Stamford
Stamford, CT
Also a public four-year college in CT, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two