Skip to content
College Path Hub

Alfred University

Alfred, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$25,620What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
74%
Graduation rate
56%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,423
In-state tuition
$41,500Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$41,500
SAT midpoint
1,185
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$54,897Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$25,620

Better than 36% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

56%

Better than 45% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$54,897

Better than 52% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,000

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$57,445

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$25,620

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Alfred University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time56%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$54,897

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Alfred University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Ceramic Sciences and Engineering$71,6448
Mechanical Engineering$63,74728
Business Administration, Management and Operations$36,05921
Psychology, General$26,43330
Fine and Studio Arts$22,91263
Criminal Justice and Corrections$22,61811
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported22
Engineering, OtherNot reported15
Biology, GeneralNot reported11
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported10
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reported10
HistoryNot reported9
Materials EngineeringNot reported7
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported6
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported6
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reported6
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported4
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported4
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported4
MarketingNot reported3
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported3
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported2
MathematicsNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reported1
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported1
SociologyNot reported1
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported1
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported1
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reported1
Data AnalyticsNot reported1
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
GerontologyNot reportedNot reported

All 38 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges