Skip to content
College Path Hub

Adams State University

Alamosa, Colorado · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,980What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Graduation rate
36%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,250
In-state tuition
$9,824Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$21,944
SAT midpoint
1,030
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,372Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,980

Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

36%

Better than 16% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$44,372

Better than 15% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,500

Better than 64% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$24,352

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,980

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Adams State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time36%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return51%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$44,372

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Adams State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$70,92614
Sociology$46,94827
Business/Commerce, General$40,18175
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$39,54621
Psychology, General$37,94317
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$30,04532
Biology, GeneralNot reported22
MusicNot reported10
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported7
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported7
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported7
MathematicsNot reported6
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported5
Psychology, OtherNot reported4
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported4
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported3
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported2
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported2
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported1
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 21 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges