Skip to content
College Path Hub

Abilene Christian University

Abilene, Texas · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$26,182What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
66%
Graduation rate
60%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,195
In-state tuition
$44,200Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$44,200
SAT midpoint
1,160
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$55,736Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$26,182

Better than 34% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

60%

Better than 52% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$55,736

Better than 55% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,250

Better than 54% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$59,256

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$26,182

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Abilene Christian University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time60%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return81%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,250
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$55,736

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Abilene Christian University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$72,48155
Accounting and Related Services$60,61923
Finance and Financial Management Services$53,59037
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$51,36012
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$50,48620
Marketing$47,52425
Business Administration, Management and Operations$45,19633
Design and Applied Arts$38,55314
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$30,27821
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$27,89840
Psychology, General$27,14841
Biology, GeneralNot reported52
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported38
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported34
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported33
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported24
Engineering, GeneralNot reported23
Social WorkNot reported23
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported17
Theology and Religious Vocations, OtherNot reported17
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported17
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported16
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported16
Bible/Biblical StudiesNot reported12
Computer ScienceNot reported11
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported9
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported9
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reported9
MathematicsNot reported8
JournalismNot reported8
Animal SciencesNot reported7
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported7
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reported5
PhysicsNot reported4
Agricultural Business and ManagementNot reported4
Special Education and TeachingNot reported3
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported3
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported3
SociologyNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported2
HistoryNot reported2
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
GerontologyNot reportedNot reported
Architecture and Related Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported

All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges