Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities vs Walden University

Side by side on cost after aid, graduation, debt and earnings. Figures are from the 2022-23 reporting year and are averages, so they will differ from what any one student pays.

What stands out

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities has the lower average net price, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities reports higher median earnings ten years on, while University of Minnesota-Twin Cities leaves graduates with less median federal debt. Which of those matters more depends on what you need, and none of it predicts your own cost or your own chance of admission.

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities compared with Walden University
MetricUniversity of Minnesota-Twin CitiesMinneapolis, MNPublic · 4-yearLowest net priceHighest retentionLowest median debtHighest median earningsWalden UniversityMinneapolis, MNPrivate for-profit · 4-year
Cost
Average net priceWhat students on federal aid actually paid per year, after grants.$16,778$33,817
Published costSticker price before aid. Few students pay it.$30,061$35,358
In-state tuition$17,214$12,762
Out-of-state tuition$38,362$12,762
Admissions
Acceptance rate80%Not reported
SAT midpoint1,400Not reported
ACT midpoint30Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time. Excludes transfer students.85%Not reported
Retention rateFirst-year students who come back for a second year.91%0%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only. Private and parent loans are not included.$19,500$20,834
Median earnings, 10 yrsReflects the subjects a college teaches and where it sits, not only its teaching.$69,020$42,810
Campus
Undergraduates31,8559,136

Add more colleges to this comparison

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, 2022-23. A blank figure means the college did not report that measure, not that the value is zero. Acceptance rate and enrollment carry no highlight, because neither a lower acceptance rate nor a larger campus is better in itself. How this works.