Skip to content
College Path Hub

Sacred Heart University vs University of Connecticut

Side by side on cost after aid, graduation, debt and earnings. Figures are from the 2022-23 reporting year and are averages, so they will differ from what any one student pays.

What stands out

University of Connecticut has the lower average net price, University of Connecticut reports the higher graduation rate, Sacred Heart University reports higher median earnings ten years on, while University of Connecticut leaves graduates with less median federal debt. Which of those matters more depends on what you need, and none of it predicts your own cost or your own chance of admission.

Sacred Heart University compared with University of Connecticut
MetricSacred Heart UniversityFairfield, CTPrivate nonprofit · 4-yearHighest median earningsUniversity of ConnecticutStorrs, CTPublic · 4-yearLowest net priceHighest graduation rateHighest retentionLowest median debt
Cost
Average net priceWhat students on federal aid actually paid per year, after grants.$46,174$25,097
Published costSticker price before aid. Few students pay it.$69,289$39,426
In-state tuition$50,404$21,044
Out-of-state tuition$50,404$43,712
Admissions
Acceptance rate65%52%
SAT midpointNot reported1,330
ACT midpointNot reported30
Outcomes
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time. Excludes transfer students.74%84%
Retention rateFirst-year students who come back for a second year.83%92%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only. Private and parent loans are not included.$25,000$21,500
Median earnings, 10 yrsReflects the subjects a college teaches and where it sits, not only its teaching.$75,059$73,997
Campus
Undergraduates7,08719,835

Add more colleges to this comparison

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, 2022-23. A blank figure means the college did not report that measure, not that the value is zero. Acceptance rate and enrollment carry no highlight, because neither a lower acceptance rate nor a larger campus is better in itself. How this works.