Skip to content
College Path Hub

Sacred Heart University

Fairfield, Connecticut · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$46,174What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
65%
Graduation rate
74%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
7,087
In-state tuition
$50,404Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$50,404
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$75,059Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$46,174

Better than 2% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

74%

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$75,059

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$69,289

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$46,174

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Sacred Heart University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time74%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return83%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$75,059

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Sacred Heart University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$90,830252
Accounting and Related Services$60,37587
Computer and Information Sciences, General$58,21416
Finance and Financial Management Services$56,081130
Business Administration, Management and Operations$42,051146
Criminal Justice and Corrections$41,11349
Marketing$40,891104
Biology, General$37,45071
Psychology, General$29,166Not reported
Communication and Media Studies$28,88475
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$28,13486
Political Science and Government$17,26217
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reported131
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported124
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported63
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported52
EconomicsNot reported32
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported26
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing OperationsNot reported23
Social WorkNot reported18
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reported16
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported16
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported15
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported12
MathematicsNot reported12
HistoryNot reported11
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported10
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported9
SociologyNot reported8
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported7
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, OtherNot reported6
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reported6
ChemistryNot reported5
Hospitality Administration/ManagementNot reported5
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported4
Computer EngineeringNot reported3
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported3
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported2
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
MusicNot reportedNot reported

All 44 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges