Skip to content
College Path Hub

Western New Mexico University

Silver City, New Mexico · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$8,522What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Graduation rate
34%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,026
In-state tuition
$7,856Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$14,342
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$39,095Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$8,522

Better than 89% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

34%

Better than 13% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$39,095

Better than 6% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,000

Better than 27% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$21,562

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$8,522

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Western New Mexico University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time34%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return58%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$39,095

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Western New Mexico University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$73,66633
Social Work$42,25037
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$34,3459
Criminal Justice and Corrections$32,38618
Psychology, General$31,59121
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported42
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported19
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported18
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported18
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and ManagementNot reported10
MarketingNot reported7
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported7
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesNot reported6
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported6
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported5
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported4
Education, GeneralNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported3
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported3
HistoryNot reported3
Zoology/Animal BiologyNot reported3
Special Education and TeachingNot reported3
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reported2
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported1
Biology, GeneralNot reported1
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reported1
SociologyNot reported1
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Botany/Plant BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Educational/Instructional Media DesignNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
MathematicsNot reportedNot reported

All 35 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges