New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Socorro, New Mexico · Public · 4-year · Town
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $9,873What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 44%
- Graduation rate
- 57%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 995
- In-state tuition
- $9,476Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $27,247
- SAT midpoint
- 1,215
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $76,489Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$9,8735/5
Better than 84% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
57%4/5
Better than 63% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$76,4895/5
Better than 93% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$19,0854/5
Better than 69% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$24,967
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$9,873
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 57% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 77% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $19,085 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $76,489 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $73,300 | 18 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $57,424 | 50 |
| Chemical Engineering | $57,215 | 20 |
| Petroleum Engineering | $42,325 | 11 |
| Computer Science | Not reported | 32 |
| Biology, General | Not reported | 23 |
| Materials Engineering | Not reported | 12 |
| Civil Engineering | Not reported | 11 |
| Physics | Not reported | 9 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 9 |
| Psychology, General | Not reported | 8 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 7 |
| Engineering-Related Fields | Not reported | 4 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 4 |
| Physical Sciences, General | Not reported | 4 |
| Mining and Mineral Engineering | Not reported | 4 |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | Not reported | 3 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Not reported | 2 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | Not reported | 2 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 2 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Not reported | Not reported |
| Information Science/Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
All 23 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
New Mexico Highlands University
Las Vegas, NM
Also a public four-year college in NM, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoInstitute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development
Santa Fe, NM
Also a public four-year college in NM, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoWestern New Mexico University
Silver City, NM
Also a public four-year college in NM, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoEastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
Portales, NM
Also a public four-year college in NM, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two