Skip to content
College Path Hub

Virginia Wesleyan University

Virginia Beach, Virginia · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,676What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
73%
Graduation rate
46%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,256
In-state tuition
$37,500Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$37,500
SAT midpoint
1,265
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$50,074Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,676

Better than 68% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

46%

Better than 27% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$50,074

Better than 37% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$51,255

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,676

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Virginia Wesleyan University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time46%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return74%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$50,074

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Virginia Wesleyan University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$48,8411
Business Administration, Management and Operations$41,53642
Criminal Justice and Corrections$39,40424
Psychology, General$31,12318
Biology, General$30,92131
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported15
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported14
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported12
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reported11
MathematicsNot reported10
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported10
Education, GeneralNot reported9
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported8
Mathematics and Computer ScienceNot reported7
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported7
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported7
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported7
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
SociologyNot reported5
Social WorkNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
HistoryNot reported4
MusicNot reported3
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported2
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported1
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported1
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported1
Sustainability StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reportedNot reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 36 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges