Skip to content
College Path Hub

Virginia Union University

Richmond, Virginia · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$13,235What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
98%
Graduation rate
39%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,203
In-state tuition
$17,450Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$17,450
SAT midpoint
825
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$38,275Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$13,235

Better than 87% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

39%

Better than 17% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$38,275

Better than 11% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$29,000

Better than 3% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$29,075

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$13,235

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Virginia Union University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time39%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return67%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$29,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$38,275

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Virginia Union University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$33,1266
Biology, General$32,98612
Criminology$30,29112
Psychology, General$21,62611
Business Administration, Management and Operations$19,35412
Communication and Media Studies$18,07610
Social WorkNot reported8
Intelligence, Command Control and Information OperationsNot reported8
PhysicsNot reported7
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing OperationsNot reported7
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported5
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported5
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported4
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported3
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported3
MusicNot reported3
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported2
HistoryNot reported2
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
Special Education and TeachingNot reported1
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported1
ChemistryNot reported1
English Language and Literature/Letters, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Natural SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 28 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges