Skip to content
College Path Hub

Vanderbilt University

Nashville, Tennessee · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$15,846What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
6%
Graduation rate
93%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
7,208
In-state tuition
$67,498Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$67,498
SAT midpoint
1,525
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$91,565Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$15,846

Better than 82% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

93%

Better than 97% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$91,565

Better than 96% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$14,000

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$89,590

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$15,846

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Vanderbilt University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time93%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return96%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$14,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$91,565

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Vanderbilt University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$122,244198
Mathematics$103,812157
Economics$84,311286
Engineering Science$81,12630
Mechanical Engineering$78,00954
Chemical Engineering$75,63935
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$63,40256
Social Sciences, General$61,389302
Public Policy Analysis$57,02328
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$47,20853
History$46,85653
Political Science and Government$46,843130
Cognitive Science$38,75251
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$37,276263
Psychology, General$36,716113
English Language and Literature, General$34,63352
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$25,830112
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported74
MusicNot reported56
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reported35
SociologyNot reported34
PhilosophyNot reported27
ChemistryNot reported26
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported26
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported22
Civil EngineeringNot reported22
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported22
Area StudiesNot reported22
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported22
Science, Technology and SocietyNot reported21
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reported19
Biology, GeneralNot reported17
PhysicsNot reported16
Education, GeneralNot reported15
AnthropologyNot reported14
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported13
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported11
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported11
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported10
Electrical and Computer EngineeringNot reported10
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported9
Special Education and TeachingNot reported9
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reported9
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported8
Computer EngineeringNot reported8
Architectural History, Criticism, and ConservationNot reported8
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported7
Sustainability StudiesNot reported5
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported4
Education, OtherNot reported1
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 53 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges