Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Richmond

University of Richmond, Virginia · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$31,309What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
22%
Graduation rate
86%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
2,980
In-state tuition
$65,230Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$65,230
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$76,178Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$31,309

Better than 17% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

86%

Better than 93% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$76,178

Better than 87% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,000

Better than 77% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$80,961

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$31,309

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Richmond
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time86%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return91%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$76,178

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Richmond by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$76,76326
Accounting and Related Services$71,50846
Business Administration, Management and Operations$68,151253
Economics$61,02755
Human Resources Management and Services$55,12390
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$49,42144
Political Science and Government$43,25336
Journalism$43,15718
English Language and Literature, General$38,33320
Psychology, General$36,30956
Biology, General$36,30053
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$34,79621
Area Studies$33,34014
Chemistry$22,88112
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and HumanitiesNot reported39
MathematicsNot reported23
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported21
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported18
HistoryNot reported16
PhysicsNot reported14
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported14
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported12
Geography and CartographyNot reported11
SociologyNot reported11
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported11
Legal Support ServicesNot reported8
AnthropologyNot reported7
MusicNot reported6
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported4
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported4
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reported4
Cognitive ScienceNot reported4
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported3
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported3
PhilosophyNot reported2
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported2
DanceNot reported1
Data AnalyticsNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported1
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges