Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Notre Dame

Notre Dame, Indiana · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$26,780What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
11%
Graduation rate
96%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,818
In-state tuition
$65,025Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$65,025
SAT midpoint
1,480
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$99,980Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$26,780

Better than 31% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

96%

Better than 99% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$99,980

Better than 97% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,000

Better than 85% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$83,271

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$26,780

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Notre Dame
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time96%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return99%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$99,980

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Notre Dame by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Finance and Financial Management Services$99,222271
Computer and Information Sciences, General$96,517162
Mathematics and Statistics, Other$89,689120
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$85,86160
Mechanical Engineering$84,999101
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$83,810115
Chemical Engineering$83,37770
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$81,05725
Management Information Systems and Services$78,5073
Accounting and Related Services$76,87870
Economics$76,299256
Biological and Physical Sciences$75,41861
Civil Engineering$74,49928
Business/Commerce, General$73,17041
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$71,76910
International/Globalization Studies$69,36248
Mathematics$65,30238
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$64,67513
Marketing$63,90671
Architecture$62,95754
Political Science and Government$55,316175
Design and Applied Arts$46,82528
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$46,03074
Theological and Ministerial Studies$45,87451
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$45,57935
English Language and Literature, General$40,34543
History$39,52249
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$37,53161
Sociology$35,91540
Area Studies$35,30429
Biology, General$32,87680
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$24,615136
Psychology, GeneralNot reported112
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported85
PhilosophyNot reported52
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported33
PhysicsNot reported32
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported25
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported22
AnthropologyNot reported21
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported16
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported14
Computer EngineeringNot reported13
Peace Studies and Conflict ResolutionNot reported12
ChemistryNot reported12
MusicNot reported12
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
Public Policy AnalysisNot reported9
Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
StatisticsNot reported6
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, OtherNot reported4
Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Philosophy and Religious Studies, OtherNot reported2
Medieval and Renaissance StudiesNot reported2
Celtic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported

All 56 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges