Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Mary Washington

Fredericksburg, Virginia · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$20,667What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
80%
Graduation rate
67%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,566
In-state tuition
$14,640Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$27,560
SAT midpoint
1,225
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$60,613Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$20,667

Better than 12% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

67%

Better than 79% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$60,613

Better than 68% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,500

Better than 53% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$31,137

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$20,667

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Mary Washington
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time67%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return84%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$60,613

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Mary Washington by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$76,30155
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,01339
Mathematics$61,24717
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,315133
Economics$45,15318
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$37,67780
Political Science and Government$35,68730
Sociology$35,49929
Physical Sciences, Other$35,46420
Biology, General$35,19484
History$31,96530
English Language and Literature, General$30,54050
International Relations and National Security Studies$30,3579
Visual and Performing Arts, General$29,13015
Psychology, General$28,88785
Anthropology$24,5349
Fine and Studio Arts$24,01324
Historic Preservation and ConservationNot reported34
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported34
ChemistryNot reported20
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported19
Geography and CartographyNot reported16
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported15
Philosophy and Religious Studies, OtherNot reported14
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported8
MusicNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported6
Area StudiesNot reportedNot reported

All 28 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges