Skip to content
College Path Hub

Christopher Newport University

Newport News, Virginia · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$23,015What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
86%
Graduation rate
73%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,365
In-state tuition
$16,828Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$31,178
SAT midpoint
1,215
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$60,509Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$23,015

Better than 5% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

73%

Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$60,509

Better than 67% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$33,766

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$23,015

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Christopher Newport University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time73%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return81%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$60,509

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Christopher Newport University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$72,12860
Information Science/Studies$58,55039
Business Administration, Management and Operations$54,432182
Economics$45,30923
Political Science and Government$43,50861
Chemistry$39,24527
Sociology$36,97748
Communication and Media Studies$36,95381
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$35,95352
Psychology, General$35,028152
Biology, General$30,287132
History$29,38644
English Language and Literature, General$29,31038
Visual and Performing Arts, General$23,65640
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported29
MathematicsNot reported26
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported23
PhilosophyNot reported20
Social WorkNot reported17
Computer EngineeringNot reported15
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported13
MusicNot reported12

All 22 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges