Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Jamestown

Jamestown, North Dakota · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,567What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
88%
Graduation rate
47%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,041
In-state tuition
$24,990Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$24,990
SAT midpoint
1,020
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$56,621Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,567

Better than 69% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

47%

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$56,621

Better than 57% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$38,013

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,567

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Jamestown
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time47%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return67%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$56,621

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Jamestown by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,09425
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$49,60813
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,85018
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported17
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, OtherNot reported13
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported12
Psychology, GeneralNot reported10
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported9
Mechanical EngineeringNot reported9
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported7
Biology, GeneralNot reported4
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported4
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reported3
HistoryNot reported3
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported3
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported3
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported3
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported2
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported2
Curriculum and InstructionNot reported1
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported1
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported1
MathematicsNot reported1
Public HealthNot reported1
ChemistryNot reported1
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported1
Education, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
MusicNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionNot reportedNot reported
Engineering-Related FieldsNot reportedNot reported
Medical Illustration and InformaticsNot reportedNot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Applied MathematicsNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges