At a glance
- Average net price
- $22,531What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 84%
- Graduation rate
- 74%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 22,264
- In-state tuition
- $11,283Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $33,371
- SAT midpoint
- 1,240
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $64,762Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$22,5311/5
Better than 6% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
74%5/5
Better than 88% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$64,7625/5
Better than 80% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$22,5002/5
Better than 31% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$28,596
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$22,531
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 74% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 90% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $22,500 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $64,762 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $79,228 | 60 |
| Industrial Engineering | $75,699 | 33 |
| Chemical Engineering | $75,340 | 39 |
| Statistics | $75,095 | 22 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $71,732 | 101 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $70,686 | 37 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $70,324 | 183 |
| Civil Engineering | $70,313 | 45 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $69,368 | 229 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $65,373 | 143 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | $61,373 | 47 |
| Mathematics | $60,612 | 79 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $60,199 | 23 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $59,965 | 391 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $58,144 | 99 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | $52,945 | 169 |
| Marketing | $52,895 | 301 |
| Economics | $50,223 | 126 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $46,264 | 201 |
| Geography and Cartography | $45,566 | 6 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $45,015 | 155 |
| Chemistry | $44,847 | 43 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $44,715 | 77 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $40,791 | 191 |
| Social Work | $39,285 | 38 |
| Political Science and Government | $39,133 | 139 |
| Music | $39,121 | 52 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $38,584 | 114 |
| Criminology | $38,520 | 88 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $37,647 | 161 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $37,103 | 43 |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | $36,376 | 22 |
| Public Health | $35,852 | 57 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $35,650 | 56 |
| Biology, General | $34,813 | 107 |
| Journalism | $34,743 | 95 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $34,116 | 58 |
| History | $33,117 | 52 |
| Psychology, General | $33,057 | Not reported |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $31,998 | 543 |
| Dance | $30,353 | 15 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $29,991 | 37 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $28,746 | 41 |
| International/Globalization Studies | $28,140 | 21 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $28,008 | 91 |
| Anthropology | $27,221 | 35 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $26,147 | 60 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $22,225 | 55 |
| Communication Disorders Sciences and Services | $21,969 | 67 |
| English Language and Literature/Letters, Other | $21,591 | 148 |
| Area Studies | $19,426 | 15 |
| Behavioral Sciences | Not reported | 327 |
| Computer Science | Not reported | 110 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | Not reported | 67 |
| Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General | Not reported | 37 |
| Sociology | Not reported | 33 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | Not reported | 25 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 22 |
| Physics | Not reported | 18 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Not reported | 17 |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | Not reported | 17 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 15 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 11 |
| Classical and Ancient Studies | Not reported | 11 |
| Systems Science and Theory | Not reported | 9 |
| Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions | Not reported | 7 |
| Data Science | Not reported | 7 |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | Not reported | 5 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 5 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 5 |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 4 |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 3 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Not reported | 1 |
| Engineering, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/Commerce, General | Not reported | Not reported |
| Insurance | Not reported | Not reported |
| Medicine | Not reported | Not reported |
| Non-Professional Legal Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health/Medical Preparatory Programs | Not reported | Not reported |
All 79 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Iowa State University
Ames, IA
Also a public four-year college in IA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA
Also a public four-year college in IA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two