At a glance
- Average net price
- $18,589What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 89%
- Graduation rate
- 75%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 25,367
- In-state tuition
- $10,787Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $28,881
- SAT midpoint
- 1,207
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $63,386Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$18,5891/5
Better than 19% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
75%5/5
Better than 89% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$63,3864/5
Better than 74% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$22,8692/5
Better than 29% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$24,018
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$18,589
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 75% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 88% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $22,869 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $63,386 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $84,913 | 112 |
| Computer Engineering | $79,182 | 243 |
| Computer Science | $78,517 | 106 |
| Construction Engineering | $77,845 | 58 |
| Chemical Engineering | $76,184 | 94 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering | $75,036 | 121 |
| Industrial Engineering | $74,310 | 102 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $72,900 | 356 |
| Civil Engineering | $72,502 | 123 |
| Agricultural Engineering | $72,376 | 62 |
| Materials Engineering | $65,831 | 37 |
| Agricultural Mechanization | $63,321 | 45 |
| Engineering-Related Fields | $62,416 | 84 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $60,397 | 174 |
| Food Science and Technology | $60,351 | 17 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $58,479 | 118 |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | $57,928 | 73 |
| Economics | $57,619 | 36 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $57,188 | 345 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $56,974 | 212 |
| Architecture | $54,957 | Not reported |
| Agricultural Business and Management | $53,967 | 177 |
| Landscape Architecture | $53,355 | Not reported |
| Statistics | $53,132 | 26 |
| International Agriculture | $52,068 | 31 |
| Mathematics | $51,422 | 59 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | $50,150 | 17 |
| Plant Sciences | $49,393 | 112 |
| Marketing | $48,304 | 331 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $47,559 | 66 |
| Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations | $46,374 | 48 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $45,512 | 231 |
| City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | $44,146 | 29 |
| Chemistry | $43,870 | 27 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General | $43,783 | 7 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $43,520 | 35 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | $42,530 | 80 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $41,624 | 110 |
| History | $41,294 | 58 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $40,849 | 76 |
| Sociology | $40,602 | 29 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $40,497 | 70 |
| Animal Sciences | $39,567 | 235 |
| Journalism | $39,347 | 44 |
| Forestry | $39,337 | 30 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $39,019 | 32 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $38,375 | 65 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | $37,909 | 47 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $37,890 | 92 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $37,565 | 216 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $36,743 | 91 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $36,532 | 66 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $36,492 | 250 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $36,364 | 48 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $36,006 | 4 |
| Psychology, General | $34,155 | 246 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | $33,958 | 38 |
| Genetics | $33,330 | 30 |
| Biology, General | $32,528 | 158 |
| Political Science and Government | $30,715 | 74 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | $29,842 | 102 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $25,065 | 19 |
| Anthropology | $25,014 | 25 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Not reported | 67 |
| Education, General | Not reported | 55 |
| Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations | Not reported | 29 |
| Sustainability Studies | Not reported | 26 |
| Physics | Not reported | 16 |
| International Business | Not reported | 16 |
| Computational Science | Not reported | 16 |
| Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies | Not reported | 16 |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | Not reported | 15 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | Not reported | 15 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Not reported | 14 |
| Nutrition Sciences | Not reported | 14 |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | Not reported | 14 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 11 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | Not reported | 11 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | Not reported | 11 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Not reported | 10 |
| Public Administration | Not reported | 10 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Not reported | 9 |
| Area Studies | Not reported | 9 |
| Music | Not reported | 9 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 9 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Not reported | 8 |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | Not reported | 6 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Not reported | 2 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Management Information Systems and Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Zoology/Animal Biology | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dance | Not reported | Not reported |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
All 93 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
Also a public four-year college in IA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoUniversity of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA
Also a public four-year college in IA, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two