Skip to content
College Path Hub

University of Dayton

Dayton, Ohio · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$29,533What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
65%
Graduation rate
81%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
7,682
In-state tuition
$49,140Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$49,140
SAT midpoint
1,230
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$75,537Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$29,533

Better than 21% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

81%

Better than 88% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$75,537

Better than 87% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,250

Better than 61% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$65,881

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$29,533

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for University of Dayton
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time81%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return89%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,250
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$75,537

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at University of Dayton by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Chemical Engineering$79,86562
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$79,40980
Computer Science$74,05231
Mechanical Engineering$71,911166
Civil Engineering$71,41160
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$70,55913
Management Information Systems and Services$69,99535
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$66,05539
Accounting and Related Services$65,12761
Finance and Financial Management Services$64,371171
Business Administration, Management and Operations$63,89724
Business/Managerial Economics$55,87133
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$55,86429
Marketing$54,504155
International Business$49,75320
Special Education and Teaching$45,26019
Design and Applied Arts$43,60926
Communication and Media Studies$42,629123
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,492106
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$38,0111
Economics$34,67117
International/Globalization Studies$32,99416
Psychology, General$32,95397
English Language and Literature, General$30,06329
Biology, General$26,43180
Criminal Justice and Corrections$25,15043
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$23,60921
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$20,26369
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported96
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, Fitness, and Kinesiology, OtherNot reported42
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported40
Computer EngineeringNot reported37
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherNot reported29
Education, OtherNot reported19
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported17
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported16
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported14
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reported11
MusicNot reported10
HistoryNot reported10
SociologyNot reported10
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported9
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsNot reported9
MathematicsNot reported9
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported9
PhysicsNot reported7
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported7
Computer Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reported7
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
ChemistryNot reported6
PhilosophyNot reported6
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported4
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported3
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported3
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported1
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported1
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationNot reported1
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reported1
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reportedNot reported

All 63 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges