Skip to content
College Path Hub

Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland, Ohio · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$41,190What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
37%
Graduation rate
87%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
6,437
In-state tuition
$66,608Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$66,608
SAT midpoint
1,470
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$87,989Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$41,190

Better than 5% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

87%

Better than 93% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$87,989

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$24,000

Better than 57% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$85,851

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$41,190

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Case Western Reserve University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time87%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return92%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$24,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$87,989

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Case Western Reserve University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$95,688149
Chemical Engineering$83,70650
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$83,63945
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$83,22741
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$78,81595
Mechanical Engineering$76,736106
Civil Engineering$74,26626
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$69,389102
Accounting and Related Services$67,83039
Finance and Financial Management Services$65,78457
Economics$53,14885
Marketing$45,25117
Cognitive Science$30,19848
Psychology, General$28,972105
Biology, General$26,254114
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$22,39056
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported34
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported33
AnthropologyNot reported33
ChemistryNot reported32
PhysicsNot reported31
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported29
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported25
MathematicsNot reported23
SociologyNot reported20
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported19
Nutrition SciencesNot reported19
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesNot reported18
MusicNot reported18
StatisticsNot reported16
International/Globalization StudiesNot reported16
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported15
HistoryNot reported15
Computer EngineeringNot reported13
Applied MathematicsNot reported13
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported12
PhilosophyNot reported11
Polymer/Plastics EngineeringNot reported11
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported10
Data ScienceNot reported9
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reported8
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported8
DanceNot reported7
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported7
Materials EngineeringNot reported6
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported6
Environmental GeosciencesNot reported5
Engineering PhysicsNot reported5
Area StudiesNot reported4
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported4
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported4
Education, GeneralNot reported4
Systems EngineeringNot reported3
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported3
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported3
ArchitectureNot reported2
Engineering, GeneralNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported2
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported2
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported2
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported1
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported
Natural SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
GerontologyNot reportedNot reported
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Architecture and Related Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 68 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges