Skip to content
College Path Hub

The University of Tennessee Southern

Pulaski, Tennessee · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,798What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
87%
Graduation rate
36%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
864
In-state tuition
$10,924Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$10,924
SAT midpoint
990
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$38,924Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,798

Better than 65% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

36%

Better than 17% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$38,924

Better than 5% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$21,500

Better than 40% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$24,750

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,798

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for The University of Tennessee Southern
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time36%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return77%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$21,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$38,924

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at The University of Tennessee Southern by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$67,34910
Business Administration, Management and Operations$36,95436
Psychology, General$30,958Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$28,0698
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported15
Behavioral SciencesNot reported14
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported12
Public HealthNot reported7
Biology, GeneralNot reported5
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported2
ChemistryNot reported2
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported2
Special Education and TeachingNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported1
Homeland SecurityNot reported1
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported1
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
MusicNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
HistoryNot reportedNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Psychology, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Human Services, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 30 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges