Skip to content
College Path Hub

Tennessee Wesleyan University

Athens, Tennessee · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$14,836What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
69%
Graduation rate
46%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
846
In-state tuition
$30,814Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$30,814
SAT midpoint
1,055
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$45,989Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$14,836

Better than 84% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

46%

Better than 26% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$45,989

Better than 25% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$20,000

Better than 81% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$39,440

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$14,836

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Tennessee Wesleyan University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time46%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return72%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$20,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$45,989

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Tennessee Wesleyan University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Business Administration, Management and Operations$58,85950
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported59
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported25
MarketingNot reported23
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reported17
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported14
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported13
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported9
Psychology, GeneralNot reported9
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported8
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported7
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported7
Behavioral SciencesNot reported6
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported6
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported6
Social WorkNot reported5
Biology, GeneralNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported4
MusicNot reported3
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported2
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reported2
HistoryNot reported2
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported2
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
Theology and Religious Vocations, OtherNot reported1
Special Education and TeachingNot reported1
Engineering ScienceNot reported1
SociologyNot reportedNot reported
Human Services, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Research and Experimental PsychologyNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Biological and Physical SciencesNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 41 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges