Skip to content
College Path Hub

Stevens Institute of Technology

Hoboken, New Jersey · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$41,346What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
48%
Graduation rate
88%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,222
In-state tuition
$63,462Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$63,462
SAT midpoint
1,440
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$108,772Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$41,346

Better than 5% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

88%

Better than 94% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$108,772

Better than 98% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$79,790

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$41,346

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Stevens Institute of Technology
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time88%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return94%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$108,772

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Stevens Institute of Technology by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$99,007156
Applied Mathematics$97,70077
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$90,13632
Computer Engineering$89,001110
Engineering-Related Fields$79,75526
Chemical Engineering$79,33951
Mechanical Engineering$77,925180
Civil Engineering$74,01138
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$73,45464
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,69491
Music$21,62323
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported14
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported11
PhysicsNot reported11
Engineering, OtherNot reported10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported10
Systems EngineeringNot reported9
MathematicsNot reported8
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringNot reported8
Biology, GeneralNot reported8
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported5
ChemistryNot reported4
Engineering PhysicsNot reported1
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported1
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reportedNot reported
Science, Technology and SocietyNot reportedNot reported
LiteratureNot reportedNot reported
Naval Architecture and Marine EngineeringNot reportedNot reported

All 31 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges