Skip to content
College Path Hub

Rider University

Lawrenceville, New Jersey · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$24,792What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
79%
Graduation rate
62%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
3,106
In-state tuition
$41,120Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$41,120
SAT midpoint
1,160
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$62,208Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$24,792

Better than 39% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

62%

Better than 58% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$62,208

Better than 72% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,130

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$55,967

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$24,792

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Rider University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time62%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return78%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,130
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$62,208

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Rider University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Accounting and Related Services$65,84939
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$58,89017
Finance and Financial Management Services$57,88149
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$57,14578
International Business$53,124Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$52,94011
Business Administration, Management and Operations$50,83866
Mathematics$50,4783
History$46,39310
Marketing$44,35234
Communication and Media Studies$41,8647
Computer and Information Sciences, General$41,4217
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$41,3158
Biology, General$41,18118
Human Resources Management and Services$40,94121
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$38,60018
Psychology, General$38,11874
Sociology$36,7055
Criminal Justice and Corrections$36,05340
Design and Applied Arts$29,44520
Dance$24,51519
Music$20,72731
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$16,690Not reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported21
Computer ScienceNot reported19
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsNot reported18
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported17
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reported13
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported11
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported10
Public HealthNot reported9
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported9
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported7
Arts, Entertainment, and Media ManagementNot reported7
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyNot reported6
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported6
Security Science and TechnologyNot reported6
JournalismNot reported6
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported5
BiopsychologyNot reported4
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
Public Policy AnalysisNot reported2
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported2
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported2
Area StudiesNot reported1
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reportedNot reported
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign LanguageNot reportedNot reported
Social WorkNot reportedNot reported
PhilosophyNot reportedNot reported
EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
Religious Music and WorshipNot reportedNot reported

All 56 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges