Skip to content
College Path Hub

South College

Knoxville, Tennessee · Private for-profit · 2-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$17,858What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Graduation rate
40%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,745
In-state tuition
$18,535Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$18,535
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$36,642Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private for-profit 2-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$17,858

Better than 83% of private for-profit 2-year colleges (145 compared).

Completion

40%

Better than 15% of private for-profit 2-year colleges (129 compared).

Earnings

$36,642

Better than 38% of private for-profit 2-year colleges (138 compared).

Debt at graduation

$18,668

Better than 46% of private for-profit 2-year colleges (138 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$30,954

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$17,858

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for South College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time40%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return52%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$18,668
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$36,642

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at South College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$65,109237
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$43,77541
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported65
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reported31
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported15
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported14
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported11
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported10
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesNot reported10
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsNot reported10
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported6
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported5
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported4
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported3
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported2
MarketingNot reported2
Computer ScienceNot reported2
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported1
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported1
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reported1
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationNot reportedNot reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 22 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges