Skip to content
College Path Hub

Seton Hall University

South Orange, New Jersey · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$31,446What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
73%
Graduation rate
70%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
6,036
In-state tuition
$53,170Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$53,170
SAT midpoint
1,285
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$70,196Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$31,446

Better than 16% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

70%

Better than 76% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$70,196

Better than 82% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$22,750

Better than 67% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$68,263

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$31,446

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Seton Hall University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time70%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return81%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$22,750
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$70,196

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Seton Hall University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,908117
Computer and Information Sciences, General$73,70673
Accounting and Related Services$69,41144
Business/Managerial Economics$66,87740
Finance and Financial Management Services$64,233174
Management Information Systems and Services$62,319Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$56,30054
Human Resources Management and Services$52,28550
Economics$51,46419
Marketing$50,200132
English Language and Literature, General$48,36822
Social Work$47,73413
International Relations and National Security Studies$45,44062
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$40,60217
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$39,33359
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$38,23022
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$36,993123
Psychology, General$30,84660
Political Science and Government$28,13858
Biology, General$27,759216
Criminal Justice and Corrections$27,16728
HistoryNot reported30
PhilosophyNot reported27
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported25
Special Education and TeachingNot reported24
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported21
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported19
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported17
PhysicsNot reported16
JournalismNot reported16
ChemistryNot reported9
MathematicsNot reported8
Applied MathematicsNot reported7
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported6
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported6
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
SociologyNot reported5
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported4
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reported3
AnthropologyNot reported3
Area StudiesNot reported2
MusicNot reported2
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported1
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported1
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, OtherNot reported1
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reportedNot reported

All 50 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges