Skip to content
College Path Hub

Samford University

Birmingham, Alabama · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$32,622What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
82%
Graduation rate
78%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,206
In-state tuition
$40,150Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$40,150
SAT midpoint
1,195
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$58,469Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$32,622

Better than 15% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

78%

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$58,469

Better than 63% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$19,500

Better than 84% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$57,456

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$32,622

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Samford University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time78%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return93%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$19,500
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$58,469

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Samford University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$64,226105
Finance and Financial Management Services$53,05953
Marketing$47,56565
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,64441
Design and Applied Arts$41,32333
Communication and Media Studies$39,69019
Journalism$30,31133
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationNot reported66
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported41
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsNot reported39
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported34
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported30
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reported29
Psychology, GeneralNot reported25
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported22
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported20
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported19
Biology, GeneralNot reported19
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesNot reported18
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported17
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reported14
HistoryNot reported11
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported11
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported11
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported10
MathematicsNot reported9
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported9
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported8
Missions/Missionary Studies and MissiologyNot reported7
Public HealthNot reported7
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reported7
MusicNot reported6
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported6
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported6
SociologyNot reported5
Geography and CartographyNot reported5
Public AdministrationNot reported4
Pastoral Counseling and Specialized MinistriesNot reported3
Engineering PhysicsNot reported3
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported3
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported2
EconomicsNot reported2
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralNot reported2
PhilosophyNot reported2
Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and AnalysisNot reported2
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reported2
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported1
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported1
Bible/Biblical StudiesNot reported1
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported1
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Computer ScienceNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Visual and Performing Arts, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
International/Globalization StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Religious Music and WorshipNot reportedNot reported
Legal Support ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reportedNot reported
Social WorkNot reportedNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsNot reportedNot reported

All 68 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges