Rochester Institute of Technology
Rochester, New York · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Suburb
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $34,906What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 67%
- Graduation rate
- 70%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 13,215
- In-state tuition
- $59,274Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $59,274
- SAT midpoint
- 1,360
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $76,571Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$34,9061/5
Better than 11% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).
Completion
70%4/5
Better than 76% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).
Earnings
$76,5715/5
Better than 88% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).
Debt at graduation
$26,7782/5
Better than 23% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$74,626
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$34,906
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 70% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 89% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $26,778 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $76,571 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $94,611 | 195 |
| Computer Engineering | $90,829 | 186 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | $89,032 | 89 |
| Computer Programming | $83,875 | 28 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $82,726 | Not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | $78,298 | 54 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $76,263 | 173 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | $75,227 | 14 |
| Engineering-Related Fields | $74,923 | 34 |
| Applied Mathematics | $74,921 | 34 |
| Chemical Engineering | $73,984 | 35 |
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications | $73,367 | Not reported |
| Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians | $73,355 | 36 |
| Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians | $73,273 | 55 |
| Industrial Engineering | $72,764 | 43 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $72,344 | 50 |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | $71,549 | 39 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $71,358 | 63 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $69,834 | 56 |
| Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians | $69,755 | 26 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians | $69,261 | 92 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | $69,052 | 154 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $56,513 | 26 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $51,040 | 25 |
| Physics | $48,374 | 40 |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | $45,947 | 20 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $42,762 | 24 |
| Biotechnology | $41,895 | 22 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | $36,664 | 5 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $36,318 | 109 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $35,872 | 26 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $35,449 | 6 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $34,709 | 149 |
| Biology, General | $34,630 | 58 |
| Psychology, General | $34,318 | 32 |
| Graphic Communications | $32,044 | 33 |
| American Sign Language | $31,969 | 32 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $28,858 | 116 |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | $25,345 | 8 |
| Electrical and Computer Engineering | Not reported | 89 |
| Applied Statistics | Not reported | 21 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 20 |
| Digital Humanities and Textual Studies | Not reported | 12 |
| Political Science and Government | Not reported | 12 |
| Economics | Not reported | 12 |
| International Business | Not reported | 12 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 12 |
| Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians | Not reported | 11 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | Not reported | 10 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | Not reported | 9 |
| Sociology and Anthropology | Not reported | 9 |
| Physical Sciences, General | Not reported | 8 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Not reported | 8 |
| Museology/Museum Studies | Not reported | 7 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Not reported | 7 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | Not reported | 7 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Not reported | 6 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 6 |
| Journalism | Not reported | 5 |
| Philosophy | Not reported | 5 |
| Marketing | Not reported | 5 |
| History | Not reported | 4 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | Not reported | 4 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Not reported | 2 |
| Sociology | Not reported | 2 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | Not reported | 2 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Not reported | 1 |
| Nutrition Sciences | Not reported | 1 |
| Woodworking | Not reported | Not reported |
| Statistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians | Not reported | Not reported |
| Human Resources Management and Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | Not reported |
| Community Organization and Advocacy | Not reported | Not reported |
All 74 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
Fordham University
Bronx, NY
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in NY, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoCornell University
Ithaca, NY
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in NY, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoColumbia University in the City of New York
New York, NY
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in NY, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoHofstra University
Hempstead, NY
Also a private nonprofit four-year college in NY, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two