Skip to content
College Path Hub

Rice University

Houston, Texas · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$13,370What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
8%
Graduation rate
95%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,776
In-state tuition
$64,144Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$64,144
SAT midpoint
1,530
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$89,718Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$13,370

Better than 87% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

95%

Better than 98% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$89,718

Better than 95% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$11,000

Better than 97% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$79,788

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$13,370

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Rice University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time95%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return97%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$11,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$89,718

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Rice University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$131,154164
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$96,75115
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$88,30729
Chemical Engineering$87,83029
Mechanical Engineering$82,89965
Economics$78,81488
Political Science and Government$54,72828
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,11053
Mathematics$50,28647
Cognitive Science$47,45944
Psychology, General$41,29966
Biology, GeneralNot reported70
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported57
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported45
StatisticsNot reported45
Public Policy AnalysisNot reported31
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported30
Electrical and Computer EngineeringNot reported22
MusicNot reported22
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported19
ChemistryNot reported18
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported18
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported18
ArchitectureNot reported18
Architectural Sciences and TechnologyNot reported17
HistoryNot reported17
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported16
Civil EngineeringNot reported15
SociologyNot reported14
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported13
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reported11
PhilosophyNot reported11
Applied MathematicsNot reported11
PhysicsNot reported10
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported7
Area StudiesNot reported7
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported6
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported6
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported5
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported5
AnthropologyNot reported5
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported3
NanotechnologyNot reported3
Astronomy and AstrophysicsNot reported3
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyNot reported2
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported2
Operations ResearchNot reported2
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reported1
Medieval and Renaissance StudiesNot reported1
Architectural History, Criticism, and ConservationNot reported1
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsNot reported1
Data AnalyticsNot reportedNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 55 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges