Skip to content
College Path Hub

Prairie View A & M University

Prairie View, Texas · Public · 4-year · Rural

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$13,570What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
79%
Graduation rate
43%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,877
In-state tuition
$11,299Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$26,874
SAT midpoint
945
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$45,411Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$13,570

Better than 59% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

43%

Better than 28% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$45,411

Better than 19% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 3% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$26,362

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$13,570

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Prairie View A & M University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time43%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return76%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$45,411

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Prairie View A & M University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$84,19516
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$83,218119
Computer and Information Sciences, General$77,76341
Mechanical Engineering$66,67852
Civil Engineering$63,37212
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$61,06823
Chemical Engineering$58,62735
Finance and Financial Management Services$56,79124
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$52,1486
Accounting and Related Services$46,22224
Social Work$40,66743
Business Administration, Management and Operations$38,662105
Agriculture, General$38,06358
Marketing$37,49341
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$32,266108
Criminal Justice and Corrections$31,823104
Biology, General$28,94791
Psychology, General$28,04794
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$25,594117
Communication and Media Studies$22,26955
ArchitectureNot reported44
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsNot reported44
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reported30
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported26
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesNot reported25
ChemistryNot reported19
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reported15
SociologyNot reported13
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported12
MusicNot reported11
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported9
Computer EngineeringNot reported9
MathematicsNot reported8
HistoryNot reported6
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
PhysicsNot reportedNot reported
Computer Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reportedNot reported

All 37 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges