Skip to content
College Path Hub

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York

York, Pennsylvania · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,047What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
97%
Graduation rate
14%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
668
In-state tuition
$15,208Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$25,392
SAT midpoint
Not reported
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$63,435Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,047

Better than 17% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

14%

Better than 0% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$63,435

Better than 74% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 9% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$27,826

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,047

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time14%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return77%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$63,435

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$84,0501
Information Science/Studies$66,2097
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians$65,0435
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$58,1404
Business/Commerce, General$45,11016
Political Science and Government$41,201Not reported
Biological and Physical Sciences$35,6392
Communication and Media Studies$34,181Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$34,03012
Biology, General$33,41713
Business/Corporate Communications$32,4455
Psychology, General$32,40813
English Language and Literature, General$29,8487

All 13 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges