Skip to content
College Path Hub

Northern Kentucky University

Highland Heights, Kentucky · Public · 4-year · Suburb

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$8,191What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
68%
Graduation rate
50%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
8,246
In-state tuition
$11,088Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$21,912
SAT midpoint
1,097
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$50,220Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$8,191

Better than 90% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

50%

Better than 44% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$50,220

Better than 35% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$23,000

Better than 27% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$19,725

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$8,191

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Northern Kentucky University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time50%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return76%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$23,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$50,220

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Northern Kentucky University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$68,649231
Management Information Systems and Services$68,62822
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$67,64131
Construction Management$67,29533
Computer and Information Sciences, General$62,411139
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$58,97078
Accounting and Related Services$52,425Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$52,09450
Finance and Financial Management Services$50,457Not reported
Human Resources Management and Services$49,80357
Business/Commerce, General$48,6541
Marketing$45,386Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations$44,564341
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$42,725Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$41,84214
Special Education and Teaching$40,33311
Biology, General$38,97068
Communication and Media Studies$38,63752
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$38,059131
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$37,60265
Social Work$37,03767
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$36,89414
Psychology, General$36,20992
Criminal Justice and Corrections$35,72457
Music$34,42813
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$33,6737
English Language and Literature, General$31,92624
Fine and Studio Arts$31,44842
Information Science/Studies$31,39024
Journalism$29,64747
History$29,61957
International Relations and National Security Studies$21,9158
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$19,92948
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported30
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported17
ChemistryNot reported15
AnthropologyNot reported12
EconomicsNot reported12
MathematicsNot reported11
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansNot reported10
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, OtherNot reported10
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported9
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesNot reported9
StatisticsNot reported8
Social and Philosophical Foundations of EducationNot reported7
Non-Professional Legal StudiesNot reported6
SociologyNot reported6
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsNot reported5
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reported5
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported5
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reported5
PhilosophyNot reported5
Medical Illustration and InformaticsNot reported4
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementNot reported3
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported3
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported3
PhysicsNot reported2
Geography and CartographyNot reported1
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reportedNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, OtherNot reportedNot reported
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reportedNot reported
Engineering PhysicsNot reportedNot reported

All 63 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges