North Dakota State University-Main Campus
Fargo, North Dakota · Public · 4-year · City
Official websiteAt a glance
- Average net price
- $15,543What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
- Acceptance rate
- 95%
- Graduation rate
- 64%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
- Undergraduates
- 9,471
- In-state tuition
- $11,110Published price before aid.
- Out-of-state tuition
- $15,764
- SAT midpoint
- 1,205
- Median earnings, 10 yrs
- $62,203Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.
How it compares to similar colleges
Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.
Affordability
$15,5433/5
Better than 42% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).
Completion
64%4/5
Better than 75% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).
Earnings
$62,2034/5
Better than 71% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).
Debt at graduation
$23,1992/5
Better than 26% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).
What these ratings are based on
- Affordability
- Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
- Completion
- Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
- Earnings
- Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
- Debt at graduation
- Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
- Why there is no rating for selectivity
- A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.
What it actually costs
Published cost
$23,716
The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.
Average net price
$15,543
What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.
Outcomes
| Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time | 64% |
|---|---|
| Retention rateFirst-year students who return | 78% |
| Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed | $23,199 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled | $62,203 |
What graduates of each major earn
Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.
| Major | Earnings, 1 yr | Degrees awarded |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $76,558 | 28 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $75,212 | 63 |
| Construction Engineering Technology/Technician | $74,199 | 43 |
| Civil Engineering | $72,729 | 60 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $72,158 | 122 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $70,821 | 216 |
| Industrial Engineering | $68,873 | 15 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | $67,303 | 49 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $64,181 | 12 |
| Agricultural Production Operations | $62,869 | 36 |
| Computer Science | $60,426 | 80 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | $59,953 | 50 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | $58,799 | 8 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $57,695 | 46 |
| Agriculture, General | $55,828 | 8 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $53,163 | 82 |
| Agricultural Mechanization | $52,387 | 7 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | $49,443 | Not reported |
| Plant Sciences | $49,048 | 7 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $48,105 | 144 |
| Marketing | $47,815 | 61 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | $46,970 | 54 |
| Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $44,064 | 76 |
| Homeland Security | $42,802 | 16 |
| Hospitality Administration/Management | $41,984 | 10 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $41,846 | 17 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $41,717 | 103 |
| Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy | $40,971 | 22 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $40,558 | 9 |
| Sociology | $40,451 | 6 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $40,262 | 14 |
| Animal Sciences | $39,290 | 45 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | $39,223 | 27 |
| Criminal Justice and Corrections | $38,057 | 56 |
| Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians | $36,814 | 27 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $36,646 | 55 |
| Business/Corporate Communications | $36,513 | 16 |
| Psychology, General | $35,891 | 94 |
| Biology, General | $34,165 | 93 |
| Zoology/Animal Biology | $33,115 | Not reported |
| Political Science and Government | $26,635 | 18 |
| Architecture | Not reported | 55 |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | Not reported | 53 |
| History | Not reported | 20 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | Not reported | 16 |
| Music | Not reported | 16 |
| Manufacturing Engineering | Not reported | 15 |
| Economics | Not reported | 15 |
| Journalism | Not reported | 12 |
| English Language and Literature, General | Not reported | 11 |
| Agricultural Engineering | Not reported | 11 |
| Mathematics | Not reported | 11 |
| Nutrition Sciences | Not reported | 10 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | Not reported | 10 |
| International Business | Not reported | 9 |
| Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services | Not reported | 8 |
| Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General | Not reported | 8 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | Not reported | 8 |
| Biotechnology | Not reported | 8 |
| Environmental Design | Not reported | 7 |
| Anthropology | Not reported | 5 |
| Chemistry | Not reported | 5 |
| Statistics | Not reported | 5 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Not reported | 5 |
| Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences | Not reported | 5 |
| Physics | Not reported | 4 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | Not reported | 4 |
| Food Science and Technology | Not reported | 4 |
| Construction Engineering | Not reported | 3 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | 2 |
| Agricultural Public Services | Not reported | 1 |
| International/Globalization Studies | Not reported | 1 |
| Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management | Not reported | Not reported |
| Botany/Plant Biology | Not reported | Not reported |
| Soil Sciences | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | Not reported | Not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | Not reported | Not reported |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | Not reported | Not reported |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Not reported | Not reported |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy | Not reported | Not reported |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | Not reported | Not reported |
All 82 bachelor’s programs this college reported.
Similar colleges
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, ND
Also a public four-year college in ND, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoMinot State University
Minot, ND
Also a public four-year college in ND, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoDickinson State University
Dickinson, ND
Also a public four-year college in ND, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these twoValley City State University
Valley City, ND
Also a public four-year college in ND, with a similar undergraduate enrollment.
Compare these two