Skip to content
College Path Hub

North Carolina Central University

Durham, North Carolina · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$15,359What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
87%
Graduation rate
44%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
6,081
In-state tuition
$6,699Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$19,735
SAT midpoint
1,040
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$42,968Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$15,359

Better than 44% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

44%

Better than 30% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$42,968

Better than 11% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$28,250

Better than 3% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$26,556

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$15,359

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for North Carolina Central University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time44%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return73%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$28,250
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$42,968

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at North Carolina Central University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,14238
Computer and Information Sciences, General$74,59718
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration$62,022Not reported
Accounting and Related Services$48,48911
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,77316
Public Health$38,19840
Social Sciences, General$35,978122
Business Administration, Management and Operations$35,819106
Criminal Justice and Corrections$33,829114
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$31,58659
Social Work$30,61547
Biology, General$30,42361
Psychology, General$29,40099
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$28,86316
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$28,52222
Hospitality Administration/Management$27,75213
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$26,68236
Communication and Media Studies$25,75052
Political Science and Government$24,94833
Fine and Studio Arts$21,98014
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchNot reported12
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported12
HistoryNot reported10
MusicNot reported7
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported7
PhysicsNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported4
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesNot reported4
MathematicsNot reported3
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reportedNot reported
Design and Applied ArtsNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reportedNot reported

All 35 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges