Skip to content
College Path Hub

Mount Vernon Nazarene University

Mount Vernon, Ohio · Private nonprofit · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$22,421What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
84%
Graduation rate
66%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,358
In-state tuition
$37,158Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$37,158
SAT midpoint
1,119
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$49,555Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$22,421

Better than 51% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

66%

Better than 66% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$49,555

Better than 36% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$25,000

Better than 40% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$49,858

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$22,421

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Mount Vernon Nazarene University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time66%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return79%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$25,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$49,555

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Mount Vernon Nazarene University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$69,30331
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,89944
Social Work$37,97924
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$35,26847
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$32,50816
Biology, GeneralNot reported28
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported23
Religious EducationNot reported20
Psychology, GeneralNot reported15
Finance and Financial Management ServicesNot reported10
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reported9
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported9
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsNot reported7
MathematicsNot reported7
MarketingNot reported7
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralNot reported6
Mechanical EngineeringNot reported5
Education, OtherNot reported5
Design and Applied ArtsNot reported4
HistoryNot reported4
Public AdministrationNot reported4
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported4
ChemistryNot reported4
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported3
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported3
Special Education and TeachingNot reported2
Computer ProgrammingNot reported2
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported2
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported2
MusicNot reported1
Missions/Missionary Studies and MissiologyNot reported1
Human Resources Management and ServicesNot reported1
PhilosophyNot reported1
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported1
Religious Music and WorshipNot reported1
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
JournalismNot reported1
Homeland SecurityNot reported1
Management Information Systems and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsNot reportedNot reported
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationNot reportedNot reported
Political Science and GovernmentNot reportedNot reported
Education, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Computer EngineeringNot reportedNot reported
Bible/Biblical StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Business Operations Support and Assistant ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 49 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges