Skip to content
College Path Hub

Mississippi University for Women

Columbus, Mississippi · Public · 4-year · Town

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$12,411What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
90%
Graduation rate
42%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,605
In-state tuition
$8,492Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$8,492
SAT midpoint
1,015
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$46,128Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$12,411

Better than 69% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

42%

Better than 26% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$46,128

Better than 21% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$15,000

Better than 87% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$22,225

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$12,411

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Mississippi University for Women
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time42%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return67%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$15,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$46,128

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Mississippi University for Women by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,422357
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$36,81222
Business Administration, Management and Operations$35,310130
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$31,81115
Legal Support Services$28,6279
Public Health$26,55327
Psychology, General$24,42615
Culinary Arts and Related Services$20,0269
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesNot reported34
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessNot reported25
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported10
Biology, GeneralNot reported10
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralNot reported7
HistoryNot reported7
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralNot reported7
MusicNot reported5
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported5
Communication and Media StudiesNot reported4
MathematicsNot reported3
ChemistryNot reported3
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesNot reported2
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported1
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported1
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasNot reportedNot reported
Public AdministrationNot reportedNot reported
Physical Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralNot reportedNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesNot reportedNot reported

All 29 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges