Skip to content
College Path Hub

Jackson State University

Jackson, Mississippi · Public · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$23,836What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
93%
Graduation rate
41%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
4,600
In-state tuition
$8,965Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$11,965
SAT midpoint
960
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$39,060Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against public 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$23,836

Better than 4% of public 4-year colleges (565 compared).

Completion

41%

Better than 24% of public 4-year colleges (566 compared).

Earnings

$39,060

Better than 6% of public 4-year colleges (590 compared).

Debt at graduation

$30,470

Better than 2% of public 4-year colleges (588 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$32,415

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$23,836

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Jackson State University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time41%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return62%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$30,470
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$39,060

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Jackson State University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer Science$70,347Not reported
Computer Engineering$51,57022
Civil Engineering$49,49814
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$41,81221
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$40,44826
Accounting and Related Services$40,41929
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$36,37816
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$35,174Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services$33,9327
Health and Medical Administrative Services$30,86048
Business Administration, Management and Operations$28,91147
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$28,67831
Education, Other$27,72955
Criminal Justice and Corrections$27,10155
Social Work$26,87362
Biology, General$25,35499
Psychology, General$24,75735
Communication and Media Studies$24,23542
Visual and Performing Arts, General$23,55511
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$17,85816
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reported80
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralNot reported26
Political Science and GovernmentNot reported17
MarketingNot reported13
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringNot reported12
ChemistryNot reported10
Atmospheric Sciences and MeteorologyNot reported9
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsNot reported8
MusicNot reported6
PhysicsNot reported5
English Language and Literature, GeneralNot reported3
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesNot reported3
SociologyNot reported3
MathematicsNot reported3
HistoryNot reported2
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringNot reported2
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesNot reported1
StatisticsNot reportedNot reported
Special Education and TeachingNot reportedNot reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesNot reportedNot reported
Urban Studies/AffairsNot reportedNot reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsNot reportedNot reported

All 42 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges