Skip to content
College Path Hub

Kettering University

Flint, Michigan · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$34,660What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
79%
Graduation rate
71%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,205
In-state tuition
$48,470Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$48,470
SAT midpoint
1,240
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$94,823Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$34,660

Better than 12% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

71%

Better than 77% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$94,823

Better than 97% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$27,000

Better than 4% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$61,250

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$34,660

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Kettering University
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time71%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return94%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$27,000
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$94,823

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Kettering University by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$86,36053
Industrial Engineering$85,10525
Computer Science$83,75138
Computer Engineering$82,58036
Mechanical Engineering$79,307157
Chemical Engineering$71,41117
Business Administration, Management and OperationsNot reported10
Engineering PhysicsNot reported6
Applied MathematicsNot reported6
ChemistryNot reported5
PhysicsNot reported2
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported2
Engineering, GeneralNot reported1
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyNot reportedNot reported
Biology, GeneralNot reportedNot reported

All 15 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges