Skip to content
College Path Hub

Kalamazoo College

Kalamazoo, Michigan · Private nonprofit · 4-year · City

Compare this college

Official website

At a glance

Average net price
$19,072What students typically pay per year after grants and scholarships.
Acceptance rate
75%
Graduation rate
79%Share of students who finish within 150% of the normal time.
Undergraduates
1,149
In-state tuition
$61,050Published price before aid.
Out-of-state tuition
$61,050
SAT midpoint
1,270
Median earnings, 10 yrs
$65,590Median earnings of former students ten years after they first enrolled.

Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Data year: 2022-23 academic year. Updated September 2026. Figures are averages across all students and will differ from what any individual pays.

How it compares to similar colleges

Each rating covers one measure against private nonprofit 4-year colleges nationally. Five stars means the top fifth on that measure. There is no overall score, because which of these matters is your call.

Affordability

$19,072

Better than 71% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1092 compared).

Completion

79%

Better than 86% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1063 compared).

Earnings

$65,590

Better than 77% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1087 compared).

Debt at graduation

$26,077

Better than 28% of private nonprofit 4-year colleges (1020 compared).

What these ratings are based on
Affordability
Based on average net price: what students receiving federal aid actually paid, after grants and scholarships. Your own cost depends on your family's finances.
Completion
Based on the share of first-time, full-time students who graduate within 150% of normal time. It excludes transfer and part-time students, which understates colleges serving many of them.
Earnings
Based on median earnings ten years after students first enrolled. It reflects the subjects a college teaches and the region it sits in as much as its teaching.
Debt at graduation
Based on median federal loan debt among students who completed. Private and parent loans are not included, so real totals are often higher.
Why there is no rating for selectivity
A lower acceptance rate is selectivity, not quality. Awarding stars for it would be us inventing a value judgement and hiding it behind a number.

What it actually costs

Published cost

$74,208

The sticker price: tuition, fees, housing, food and books for one academic year, before any aid.

Average net price

$19,072

What students receiving federal aid actually paid on average, after grants and scholarships. This is the more useful number, though your own figure depends on your family’s finances.

Use this college’s official net price calculator

Outcomes

Graduation, retention, debt and earnings for Kalamazoo College
Graduation rateWithin 150% of normal time79%
Retention rateFirst-year students who return85%
Median debt at graduationFederal loans only, students who completed$26,077
Median earnings, 10 years after entryFormer students, working and not enrolled$65,590

What graduates of each major earn

Median earnings one year after finishing, for people who took that subject here. This is the figure a college-wide median hides: the spread between subjects at one college is usually far wider than the spread between colleges.

Bachelor’s programs at Kalamazoo College by graduate earnings
MajorEarnings, 1 yrDegrees awarded
Computer and Information Sciences, General$72,00829
Business/Commerce, General$47,48135
Economics$42,50816
Chemistry$39,94020
Political Science and Government$30,49418
Social Sciences, Other$28,44223
Psychology, General$26,95252
English Language and Literature, General$24,32922
Biology, General$24,21156
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported27
MathematicsNot reported18
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyNot reported12
Fine and Studio ArtsNot reported11
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesNot reported10
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsNot reported9
HistoryNot reported8
PhysicsNot reported8
PhilosophyNot reported7
Area StudiesNot reported6
Religion/Religious StudiesNot reported5
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftNot reported4
International Relations and National Security StudiesNot reported4
MusicNot reported3
Classical and Ancient StudiesNot reported3
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherNot reportedNot reported

All 26 bachelor’s programs this college reported.

Similar colleges